You are here: AU PhD  Graduate Schools Aarhus BSS Organisation


Vice-dean for Research and Talent Development at Aarhus BSS is Head of Aarhus BSS Graduate School. The head of the graduate school is responsible for all aspects of the graduate school including its budget, rules and regulations, governing the graduate school, quality and assessment of PhD programmes offered, and organisation of the cooperation between PhD programmes, field committees, heads of departments and the administration. In addition, the head of the graduate school (on behalf of the dean) is responsible for any cooperation which the graduate school may have with other graduate schools at Aarhus University or with other universities.

The graduate school offers seven field programmes. The seven field programmes with approximate indication of their academic scope are as follows:

  1. Management (organisation, entrepreneurship, innovation, strategy, international business, management information systems, marketing, consumer research and policy, business research methods)
  2. Business Communication (corporate communication, knowledge communication, translation and interpreting, lexicography, cultural research)
  3. Economics and Business Economics  (accounting, finance, logistics and operations research, microeconomics, economics of business, macroeconomics, econometrics)
  4. Law (private law, public law, international law, non-dogmatic law subjects)
  5. Political Science (comparative politics, international relations, public administration and management, public policy, political sociology and methods, political theory)
  6. Psychology and Behavioural Sciences (cognitive, developmental, clinical, work, organisational, educational, biological, social and personality psychology, human resource management)
  7. Social Science and Business

The first six field programmes are in direct continuation of the existing main educational licences of School of Business and Social Sciences with a clear departmental affiliation. The six main educational licenses are MSc in Economics and Business Administration, MA in International Business Communication, MSc in Economics and Management, LL.M. (Master of Laws), MSc in Political Science and MSc in Psychology.

The seventh field programme ensures that Aarhus BSS is able to train PhD students whose areas of research span several of or lie between the six fields and where supervision competencies are available at Aarhus BSS.

Comments on content: 
Revised 16.05.2017