Hydrothermal Treatment of Zeolite ZSM-5 and its Effect on the Structure and Catalytic Properties

PhD defence, Tuesday 21 August 2018. Julian Holzinger.

2018.08.21 | Maia Høyer Monod

Julian Holzinger

During his PhD studies, Julian Holzinger has performed structural investigations of silicious zeolite systems highly relevant for applications as catalysts in the methanol-to-hydrocarbons (MTH) process. The MTH process is a promising approach for a more sustainable synthesis of valuable hydrocarbons from methanol which is made from synthesis gas, produced from crude oil alternatives such as natural gas, coal, biomass and recycled plastics.

Julian Holzinger’s research has focused on the identification and characterization of the distinct aluminum sites in the zeolitic framework of ZSM-5, which is one of the so-called “big five” zeolites. Moreover, he has investigated the effect of post-synthesis modifications on the structure and catalytic properties as well as the effect of different synthesis methods on functional groups and aluminum distributions in different zeolite topologies. For this purpose, he has employed 27Al, 29Si and 1H solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopic techniques as the main characterization tool, complemented by other methods such as Raman spectroscopy, infrared spectroscopy and cracking activity tests. The findings have provided new important structural information about the location and distribution of aluminum in zeolites and new insights into the dealumination process of zeolite framework structures.

The PhD degree was completed at the Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO), Aarhus University.

This résumé was prepared by the PhD student.

Time: Tuesday, 21 August 2018 at 13:15
Place: Building 1514, room 213, Lecture Theatre I, Department of Chemistry, Langelandsgade 140, Aarhus University, 8000 Aarhus C.
Title of PhD thesis: Characterization of Acidic Sites in Zeolites Using Solid-State NMR Spectroscopy
Contact information: Julian Holzinger, e-mail: jholzinger@inano.au.dk, tel.: +45 9395 6905
Members of the assessment committee:
Professor Jörg Kärger, Faculty of Physics and Earth Sciences, Leipzig University, Germany
Adjunct Professor Kjeld Schaumburg, Department of Science and Environment, Roskilde University
Associate Professor Jeppe Vang Lauritsen (chair), iNANO, Aarhus University
Main supervisor:
Associate Professor Jørgen Skibsted, iNANO and Department of Chemistry, Aarhus University
Dr. Pablo Beato, Haldor Topsøe A/S, Kgs. Lyngby
Language: The PhD thesis will be defended in English

The defence is public.
The PhD thesis is available for reading at the Graduate School of Science and Technology/GSST, Ny Munkegade 120, building 1520, rooms 128-134, 8000 Aarhus C.

PhD defence
Comments on content: 
Revised 13.08.2018